politicsnoob.blogg.se

What is current version of mac os x
What is current version of mac os x








what is current version of mac os x
  1. #What is current version of mac os x for free
  2. #What is current version of mac os x update
  3. #What is current version of mac os x upgrade
  4. #What is current version of mac os x windows 8.1

It didn't even make the top-five list put out by IDC. For the third quarter of 2013, who sold the most PCs worldwide? Not Apple. The real debate consumers seem to have, and the real issue Microsoft faces, is whether they go tablet vs. They buy Windows much more than Macs, as they long have. What we do know about regular consumers is that they don't seem to be debating the "Mac vs. And that's me because the computers I purchase are work expenses, so I can be less price-sensitive than a regular consumer. I still preferred Windows as an operating system and stayed with that until last year, when I found, ironically, OS X gave me back the traditional Windows experience I felt that Windows 8 took away.īut that's me. For me, I moved to Mac laptops years ago because I appreciated the good build quality, the great screens that I look at all day.

#What is current version of mac os x upgrade

That free upgrade isn't going to move the needle in pushing them to the Mac decision. I don't think someone debating between a Windows laptop and a Mac laptop is really pondering the extra $20 they'll save because of Apple's new free upgrades policy, not when they're already looking at a $600 or more difference.

#What is current version of mac os x windows 8.1

Just last week, Windows 8 users going to Windows 8.1 got that upgrade for the low, low price of.free.

what is current version of mac os x

#What is current version of mac os x update

That also assumes that every year, Microsoft will charge for an update - which isn't always the case. That $600 difference would pay for five years of Windows updates, assuming the upgrades were always the $120 list price that Windows 8.1 goes for. The cheapest Mac is going to run you $1,000. Looking at the prices for various computers offered at the Microsoft Store, you can get a Windows laptop for $400. Windows 8.1 - also free, if you have Windows 8. When you take into account the cost of the hardware, the idea that consumers might find Windows to be "outlandishly high" - as Fast Company wrote - is laughable. This just makes me like Apple even more.Ĭompared with hardware, the OS costs littleīut I also paid a lot more for my Mac than I did for my PC. I already loved that Apple released major updates of its desktop operating system for far less than the price Microsoft does for Windows. I'll love it even more if it turns out the next version of OS X is also free. I love, absolutely love, that Apple has made the Mavericks upgrade free for those who have purchased Macs. Moreover, if you haven't upgraded to Snow Leopard, the OS X released in 2009, you'll need to spend $20 to do that first, to then get your "free" Mavericks upgrade.ĭon't get me wrong. That's instead covering the cost of OS X within the price of a Mac. Getting the operating system included along with the price of a computer isn't getting it for free.

#What is current version of mac os x for free

You only get Mavericks for free if you have purchased a Mac. And if you are using a Mac, you paid for that Mac. Go over to the Apple Store now and try to download your free copy of the latest version, Mavericks. Let me deal with the "OS X is free" myth first. The price of an operating system is a sideshow compared with the cost of hardware, and more importantly, when you consider the shift from PCs to tablets. Even if you want to buy that argument, it's unlikely to be a major factor in shifting people from Windows to Mac.

what is current version of mac os x

I've read a number of headlines talking about Apple's new policy of giving OS X away for "free" and how that might harm Microsoft's future. Mavericks for free - if you've already paid for a Mac.










What is current version of mac os x